Abide in Christ

 “Abide in me, and I will abide in you.” – John 15:4

To abide means to wait for, to endure without yielding, to accept without objection, to remain stable.  First Jesus wants us to come, then he wants us to abide.  Don’t just honk the horn and yell out the window.  Don’t just stop by for a visit.  Come in and stay.  Live with me.  Endure with me.  Remain with me.  That is what Christ wants, and that is what we as Christians should desire. 

What an invitation that is from the sovereign God of the universe.  There are implications buried in this that I can’t even begin to resurrect because I am incapable as a human of even coming close to grasping the extents of God.  The question is why am I not taking advantage of this invitation?  Why are my desires so earthly and centered around myself?  God has asked me to be His roommate, and I am basically seeking better candidates through my actions.  Why not just move in?  That is the plan.  I am on the journey home.  If you happen to be on the same road maybe we can carpool, but the goal is to abide in Christ.    

-jc

2 responses to “Abide in Christ

  1. I think you are an even more freakin amazinger writer than B does (I AM the current roommate, after all). Do you think you could jog with me instead of carpooling? I could use the accountability. 🙂

Leave a Reply

