Prayer (part 3): His will be done

Now that I have covered the fact that I don’t have much to say, and that I need to stop repeating the grab bag church words I am going to further decrease my prayer topic repertoire by getting into God’s will.  Below is an excerpt from the Worship Journey blog titled “He’s Still God” by b/:

“I’m convinced that the purpose of prayer is not asking God to fix my problem but for me to be okay with the way God chooses to work. And yet, I don’t hear people praying like this. That is, saying something like, “God, if this works out completely different than what I want, then I’m okay with that. In fact, I am more than okay with it. It’s now exactly what I want.” What I do hear is, “Will You do this or fix that, or heal this, or do that?” and then you get the courtesy call, “but Your will be done.”’

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  We talk a lot about the will of God, but I am afraid it is mostly when we want to conform His will to our will, and not the other way around.  So we plead our case and hope that God’s will aligns with ours and if things don’t go our way perhaps we didn’t pray loud enough or long enough, or use big enough words.  How about just saying “God, I want in…I don’t know what that means…but I want in on whatever you are doing.”  Besides, I doubt you could ever put up a good enough argument to God that He would say, “You know, I never thought of it that way.  Your will makes perfect sense to me now.”

This presents a problem with prayer as I have known it. If I am truly praying His will to be done, then my will has to align with His and not the other way around.  All of a sudden some of those church words don’t fit as well as they used to (which is good, I guess) but now prayer is not so protected.  It is unchartered and treacherous.   My desire is His desire?  What if He desires me to make “small talk” with a stranger?  What if he desires me live in a third world country without “stuff”?  What if He desires me to step out even further and put myself in harms way so that He can be glorified?  But, you don’t understand God, I LIVE IN A CUL-DE-SAC!  (I am pretty sure none of the apostles ever said that when God asked them to step outside themselves). I am safe here.  I am comfortable in my will, with my beautiful wife, and my amazing son.  To pray outside of my desires could possibly stretch my family and me across the tracks with the locomotive in sight.  Am I ready for that?  Are you?  I would love your input if you are living that right now.    

-jc

3 responses to “Prayer (part 3): His will be done

  1. ummm yes. maybe i can add “amen brother”? Your “prayer” after b/’s comment reminded me of my prayer with Dave concerning our trip to China… praying HIS WILL without the details of what that is yet, but trusting Him to do HIS WILL gets messy and scary and good. I don’t know how READY I am in certain areas of my life but I know from past experience, there is no better place than on the tracks when the train is coming if that is where God wants me.
    thanks for posting your thoughts…makes me feel more “normal” in this journey thing.
    and props for the “beautiful wife” mention, now it is cyber noted 🙂

  2. beautiful…still processing…desire to go…want to pray like that and mean it…burdened that I can’t stay in that place

  3. I don’t think it’s wrong or shallow to present our desires and thoughts to God, though. If Jesus, who IS God, felt comfortable doing so (“Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me” – Luke 22:42), I think He was opening a door for us. However, we can’t leave out the second half of the balance – “yet not my will, but yours be done.” Yes, we are to be constantly seeking God’s will above all else. However, I don’t think he has made us smart, reasoning (willfull) beings unless He would be comfortable with us sharing with Him what our desires are…and what I love about sharing my hopes and plans with Him is that when they ARE fulfilled (some of them, anyway), all the glory goes to Him, where it belongs. He longs to hear from us!

    It’s called “a relationship.”

Leave a Reply

