Why?

Why do we view church as a drive by pick me up where we can sing a couple songs we don’t necessarily mean, get our “God on” so to speak, hear an inspiring word we will soon forget, perform a few rituals we don’t necessarily understand and continue on with life as if what we had just done served any meaningful purpose in how we live?  (generally speaking in regards to the American church, that is).  Why do we do the things we do?  Why do we think that is what Christianity is?  Why have we limited God to a couple hours on Sunday, with the understanding that we can drop Him at the door and pick Him back up next week?  Worship has become an emotional experience that we look for, but not something we take with us.  We are more concerned with what is going on inside the church building instead of being the church outside those walls.  I am not necessarily trying to bash the church, but I am to the point where I want to see dramatic change in who we are to the world and I want to effect how those around me view the church.  The church should not drive people from Christ, and I am afraid we do that often.  What do we need to do to prevent that? (in no particular order)

-Individually love the Lord with all our heart soul and mind

-Individually love our neighbor as ourself

-Corporately be relevant to our culture

-Get back to the basics of the church where our sole purpose is to spread the love of Christ

-Individually learn how to trully worship with our lives

-Realize our complete insignificance in light of the magnitude of God’s glory

-Be perilous in our approach, and have complete faith in the results

Anything else that I am missing?

3 responses to “Why?

  1. Pingback: I’m tagging on | Worship Journey·

  2. I’m not sure where all of your why questions come from but it is a good list of questions. I think one of the biggest things that has to be addressed for a church to be successful is LOVE. Here is a description of love by Paul to the church of Corinth.

    (1 Corinthians 13)
    4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

    After reading this I can see I’m lacking in a few of these areas. So I hope that I can also LOVE those who ask your why questions. They might get a glimpse of what being in a loving church is like.

    Thank you for the post!

  3. Hi Jason…saw your site through facebook, and thought I’d leave a comment. Just FYI, I don’t consider myself religious, but more spiritual…although I have read the bible and many christian books, as well as writings of other religions.

    I’d like to start with three quotes from one of the most insightful men of the last century, Ghandi:

    -“I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.”

    -“If Christians have caste differences also, I might as well remain a Hindu.” when refused a seat in a church and told to go worship with his own people.

    -“If Christians would really live according to the teachings of Christ, as found in the Bible, all of India would be Christian today.”

    I think that what turns many away from religion in general, is a lack of humility. The ideal described by Jesus’ words and actions in the gospels call for ultimate humility, however, religious people are generally among the proudest I’ve met. Moreover, the most difficult of Jesus’ words, those of the sermon on the mount, are typically brushed over or thought of as metaphor. I’ve asked myself many times how what I view as the heart of Christian teaching can receive such a cold shoulder by most Christians. Here’s what Charles Barkley had to say on the matter:

    – “Religious people in general are so discriminatory against other people, and that really disturbs me. My idea of religion is we all love and respect. We all sin, but we still have common decency and respect for other people. So right now I’m struggling with my idea of what religion is.”

    I think that the answer lies in what religion actually is. Religion has come to play several roles…here are what I see as a few of them:

    – Statements about the history of the world
    – Statements about the metaphysical
    – Practices and rituals to find a higher spirituality
    – Culture and community
    – Emotional experience
    – Social reassurance

    I’ve found that most religious people are more concerned with the community, emotional experience, and the social reassurances that come along with their religion, than actually living a spiritual life. The two things that I’d add to your list, although they are already included implicitly in it are: love (agape) and humility.

    Hope you don’t mind me posting on your blog, just thought my perspective fit in with some of the questions you were posing. Peace brother. B

Leave a Reply

