Long time, no blog…

Wow! It has been a while since I have posted.  It is amazing to read the things I wrote almost 2 years ago, and now see where I am today!  I can not explain the spiritual growth I have had over the past couple years!  I am such a different person in many ways, and mainly in ways that I never thought would change.  I have considered myself a follower of Christ for a long time, but I am experiencing such renewed vision for who He is at this time in my life that it almost feels like I am falling in love for the first time.

Let me quickly sum up the past two years of my spiritual and life journey (from the best recollection off the top of my head):  It started with hurt, confusion, and an all too familiar feeling of rejection.  Then came searching, searching and more searching.  Went “church shopping”, hoping to land in the book of Acts.  Ended up at Church of the Highlands.  Continued searching led to prayer and fasting, revelation, understanding, and a surprising sense of order.  Oh, and by the way Sarah got pregnant during all that.  That gets me to Feb. 2009 which started with a stomach virus instead of a marriage conference!  Then came discipline and stress as I studied for the Professional Engineering exam, which led me to consume more caffeine and less food than ever in my life and eventually brought my weight down about 40 pounds.  Then came semi-relief when the exam was over and eventually complete relief in July when I found out that I passed!  Joined the Worship Team at Highlands.  One Prayer small group! Experienced significant growth in Christ!  Started using more exclamation points when writing! Growing Kid’s God’s Way small group!  On August 29th the “Rocket” turned two (my first born warrior)! On September 24th, Will was born (my next warrior)!  We got a minivan (it’s a swagger wagon and a man machine, so don’t judge me)!  We celebrated the birth of Christ as a family and started new family traditions!  Started 2010 with prayer and fasting, which led to a deeper relationship with Christ than I have ever had!  Celebrated 5 amazing years with my bride whom I love more than ever!  Marriage conference (no stomach virus this time) which led me to love my bride even more!  Love and Respect small group has helped me begin to understand my bride even more!  Excited about the relationships I am building in that group and I actually like talking to people!  Easter is approaching, and I am excited about celebrating the freedom I have through Christ!  I am praying for the lost and broken to realize that freedom as well!

It has been an amazing 2 years!  A couple weeks ago I was standing next to our locked minivan, on 30A, at Seaside, with baby Will in a front carrier, waiting for someone to come help me get the keys out.  I watched the college spring breakers drive by and they seemed to be very glad that they weren’t me.  At one time, not so long ago, that would have been me!  It was then that I truly realized, I wouldn’t trade where I am right now for the world!  The only thing that could possibly be better is what God has in store for my future, and to top it all off, then I get to spend eternity in heaven!  I hope I always have that perspective!

“I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Phillipians 3:13-14

Leave a Reply

