Finding Purpose

A couple years ago, I had an amazing opportunity to volunteer on a project trip with Engineering Ministries International (eMi) to help design the master plan for the Samfya Bible School in Zambia (See blog posts from September 2010).  This was an incredible experience for me where I got to see firsthand how God had prepared me as an engineer to serve His people around the world.

I honestly never knew why I had ended up in engineering in the first place.  I did not grow up saying, “one day I hope to be an engineer!”  Even after getting a degree in Civil engineering, I was still unsure what I even wanted to do with that.  After a couple years with a civil engineering consultant in Birmingham, we wanted to move back to Auburn, so I got a job with the City in water and wastewater.  This was definitely no where on my “what I want to do with my life” radar, but it was the best opportunity out there, and it got us back to Auburn.  In 2007, I went on my first international mission trip to Uganda where I saw for the first time how much we as Americans take for granted.  I also began to see that the expertise I had gained could be used in a practical way to meet very real physical needs and if used in the right way could be leveraged to make an impact for something much greater than the tangible benefits.  Something as simple as providing clean water could help open the door to provide living water.

Now, Sarah and I are in the process of raising support for me to go on staff with eMi and it is amazing to look back at how God prepared me for this without me even knowing that is what He was doing.  I can even see that God has prepared me over the past few years for the task of raising support, which is another thing that I never would have expected would have been in my future plans.  There is still a hard road ahead to make this happen, but I know that God has called us to this and that He is faithful to see it through.  The bottom line is that He has prepared me for something that is greater than myself and I am humbled by the grace He has given me to find His purpose.  I am privileged just to be called by His name!

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. (Ephesians 2:8-10)

Leave a Reply

